Family · Katie's Kooky Thoughts

What is it with Kids’ Shows?

What's up with

Motherhood is awesome. I say it all the time.  I would sing it on the roof tops if I wouldn’t get complaints. One of the less wonderful things about motherhood is watching children’s programing.  I have admitted before that I am a TV addict. We watch mostly children’s programming during the day (usually it’s on for noise while we do other things, but I’m working on cutting that out and listening to music instead).  I’m lucky that Princess Pea is not as absorbed with TV as most toddlers her age are. She will play and only look up when someone is singing or a conversation catches her attention otherwise we’re building with blocks, puzzling, or doing art projects.

After watching kids shows for years (yes, as a babysitter, and as a curious teacher of children I would watch the occasional show) I have found myself looking at shows more critically. I think it’s because now I’m watching them as a mom. I find myself questioning the reality that they are selling to children. When I voice my concerns out loud, my husband tells me that I am over analyzing a kid’s show. But seriously! Don’t these people know that their audience is also the parents? If I have to sit and watch PJ Masks, it better darn well make sense!

Pj-masks-post
image from Disney Channel

Anyway, I’ve decided to compile a list of observations about kid’s shows. You might think I’m wasting my time; you might think that it’s funny; you might think that it’s stupid. But I’m writing it because I don’t want to think about it as much as I am.

  • If you’re the main character, you always win, even if the other team/person is better (the exception is an episode of Elmo the Musical when Elmo lost, but he still won a prize for being a good sport)
  • Young children superheroes can be up all night and all day without any dire consequences to their health or attitude.
  • Child villains are evil at such a young age, without reason.
  • Children can go on adventures or picnics without any adult supervision, but can’t cross the street alone.

    Bubbleguppies
    Image from Youtube.com
  • Animals are as smart as people, even if they can’t talk.
  • A group of toddlers or preschoolers can get along and share well without disagreements.
  • Everyone magically knows the song and dance that is about to happen.
  • Merpeople underwater still drink glasses of water (and use sinks of water to wash dishes, and so on).
  • There is a merversion of all animals.
  • The goof ball/ klutz in the group is will eventually solve the problem by accident
  • Teenagers will join in song and dance numbers, but continue to text and not worry about how lame the song and dance is (or if a video of it will end up online).
  • The bossy bratty girl is still accepted and everyone still listens to her ideas even though she is constantly wrong and will get you into trouble.

    pegpluscat
    Image from pbskids.org
  • You only need to use the bathroom if it is an episode about potty training.
  • Bad guys are just selfish people; good guys are always nice, even to bad guys.
  • Girls are smarter and better than boys (I hate these kind of episodes and won’t let my child watch them)(yes, that means we do not watch Doc McStuffins).
  • Hidden political agendas are hidden in many popular shows.
  • Adults aren’t as smart or capable as children

Anyway, that’s my list for now. I’m sure I’ll come up with more later. What things have you noticed about children’s shows (funny, annoying, serious)?

Katie

Leave a Reply

