Family · Katie's Kooky Thoughts · Spiritual

Saturday is a Special Day

Saturday

Saturdays are tricky days for me. Once upon a time, Saturdays were the one day of the week that I got to lounge around and do nothing. Now that I live in my own (our own) apartment and am home all week long Saturdays have lost their magnificence. It doesn’t help that Superman is usually working Saturdays, so it just feels like a normal weekday. The other aspect of Saturday is that in my religion Saturday is a special day. It’s the day we get ready for Sunday. Keeping the Sabbath Day holy is a key part of my beliefs so my Saturdays now have the added preparations to make Sunday a more holy day.

For the past month and a half I have been subbing in the 8 & 9 year old Primary class. Saturday is now the also the day I prepare my lesson for these ridiculously smart 8 & 9 year old kids. This morning as I prepped the story of Abinadi, I decided to make a few mustache theme handouts. I wrote “You mustache me about Abinadi” on them. Then we took the spare ones and did a fun mustache photo shoot.

IMG_4655
Yes, the first picture of me on my blog and I’m not wearing make up. I’m not ashamed.

 

After lesson prep, I decided to make the easiest baked good ever: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins. This recipe is all over Pinterest so that it is hard to properly source it. It is really simple though.IMG_4657

Princess Pea was so excited to help bake muffins. She had to wear the apron and stand in her tower.

IMG_4664

 

For Christmas Mike Baxter made me this awesome tower for Pea to help out in the kitchen. It is a must for any toddler parent. The apron is from Snow White.

 

Anyway, we tossed in two boxes of cake mix, one giant can of pumpkin, two bags of chocolate chips, and a few shakes of cinnamon into the mixing bowl.

IMG_4668

Because there are no eggs in it, I let Princess Pea lick the beater for the first time. She wasn’t too sure about it at first, but then decided that it was delicious.

IMG_4670

A few minutes of mixing later, we scooped the batter into the freshly greased muffin pans. Seventeen minutes later: muffin perfection.

IMG_4677

Happy Saturday. What are some of your weekend rituals?

Katie

 

4 thoughts on “Saturday is a Special Day

Leave a Reply

