Baking

Nutella Rolls

IMG_6447

Have you ever finished a book that was too good to describe, only to find you’re the first or only person you know that’s read it? That’s how I’ve been feeling after I finished reading Caraval. It was such a beautifully written and mysterious book. I was enthralled till the end (and then I was upset that the next one won’t be out until next year). After telling my mom she needed to read it so I could talk to someone about it, I decided to comfort myself by baking.

It’s funny how different things sound good to you when you’re pregnant.  When I was pregnant with Princess Pea, I was hungry all the time and craved red meat. With this baby, I have so many food aversions. It’s made it difficult to want to make anything. But for the past three weeks, I’ve been longing for my mom’s cinnamon rolls, but strangely cinnamon is another food aversion for me. I decided to take a sweet twist on my mom’s famous recipe and make Nutella Rolls.

 

I doubled this recipe because I’m crazy and one batch is never enough (I like to share).

The first step is to scald the milk. If you are new to baking or unsure of scalding milk, it’s simple: you basically are bringing the milk to almost boiling, then let it cool down. I’ve done it in the microwave before, but I found you get a better texture and flavor when you do it on the stove top.

If you’re still concerned about scalding the milk, there’s a great video here on how to scald milk.

IMG_6430

After scalding the milk, I dropped room temperature butter into the hot milk. It melted to a nice buttery mix.

 

 

After adding all the wet ingredients, I did take the extra step to sift my flour and salt together to make a fluffier dough. I don’t know if this step is necessary, but I always sift when I can.

IMG_6433

 

I used my cookie paddle attachment, but I should have used my dough hook at the end. My dough kept crawling up the paddle.

IMG_6432

 

I put in in the fridge for 24 hours. I used one of my silicone baking mats as a surface to roll the dough out on. I found that using a baking mat to roll it out on can minimize some of the mess and I don’t stress about dough sticking to countertops. I can also get better idea on size and measurement.

IMG_6440

After rolling out a slab, I slather a giant spoonful of Nutella on the dough. I used my silicone spatula to spread it evenly across the dough. Once covered, I tightly rolled up the dough. I used a sharp knife to slice the dough into about an inch/ inch and a half thick pieces then placed them into a greased 9×13 pan.

IMG_6442

If you want to go the cinnamon roll route, spread butter across the dough then sprinkle lightly with a cinnamon sugar mixture.

IMG_6444

I let the rolls rise for a few hours then bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes. My oven is weird so I ended up baking mine for about 12-13 minutes. Let cool before doing the cream cheese icing.

 

Make sure your cream cheese is room temperature before you start making this. I mixed cream cheese, milk, vanilla, and powdered sugar together. (I forgot to take a picture of this step). There aren’t any measurements to this, I do about a block of cream cheese, a cup of milk, and eye ball the powdered sugar (teaspoon of vanilla). You can add more powdered sugar if you need. For some reason, no matter what I do, my icing always ends up lumpy, but it still tastes good.

 

Once your rolls are cool, poor the icing over the top and let set.IMG_6447

Princess Pea said it was the most delicious thing ever. Make sure you have milk on hand to drink with it. The Nutella can be really rich.

 

Nutella Rolls

1 c milk                                 ½ c butter                           2 eggs                                   ¼ c sugar

1TBS yeast                          ¼ c warm water                ¼ tsp sugar                          4 c flour                1 tsp salt

 

  • Scald the milk then add the butter to melt it. Cool until lukewarm
  • Dissolve yeast in warm water with ¼ tsp of sugar. Set aside until it bubbles and doubles in size.
  • Beat eggs and add ¼ c sugar
  • Add in the milk/butter mixture
  • Once the yeast is doubled, add it to the other wet ingredients
  • Add flour and salt and mix well.
  • Chill for 3-24 hours.
  • Preheat oven to 400
  • Grease 9×13
  • Keep the dough cold until you roll it out.
  • Roll it out into large slabs of dough.
  • Spread Nutella over dough, roll and slice.
  • Place in greased pan.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes

 

Katie

Leave a Reply

